Each year the European Academy of Allergy and Clinical Immunology (EAACI) honours European researchers and clinicians who have contributed significantly to the development of innovative diagnostic and therapeutic strategies for the control and prevention of allergic diseases, to the understanding of their pathophysiology and to the strengthening of allergology as a specialty in Europe.

The Academy presented the 2012 EAACI Awards during the Opening Ceremony of the EAACI Congress 2012 in Geneva.

The Charles Blackley Award 2012 for improving the Promotion of the Specialty was awarded to Professor Roy Gerth van Wijk.

Roy Gerth van Wijk, professor of Allergology and head of the Section of Allergology at the Erasmus Medical Center in Rotterdam, started to put his professional career into the service of promoting our specialty as Chairman of the Dutch Society of Allergology from 1996 until 2002. He took the initiative to organise a memorable EAACI Congress in Amsterdam in 2004, and decided to further serve the specialty by becoming a Member-at-Large of the EAACI Executive Committee. After 4 subsequent years of vice-presidency, he became President of EAACI from 2007 to 2009. Prof. Gerth van Wijk has served EAACI and the specialty in an excellent way, proving that good leaders can be modest and very efficient at the same time.

The Clemens von Pirquet Award 2012 for improving Clinical Research was awarded to Dr. Glenis Scadding.

Glenis Scadding is Honorary Consultant Allergy and Rhinology at the Royal National Throat, Nose and Ear Hospital, and Honorary Senior Lecturer at the University College London. She has been nominated for the prestigious Clemens von Pirquet Award in recognition of her major efforts in optimising diagnosis and treatment of upper airway inflammation in children and adults. Dr. Scadding has significantly contributed to the medical field of rhinitis, aspirin-exacerbated respiratory disease, rhinosinusitis, and global airway disease, and has inspired a new generation of researchers and clinicians. Her experimental and clinical research activities, as well as her excellent lectures, have been appreciated worldwide.

The Daniel Bovet Award 2012 for improving Treatment and Prevention was awarded to Dr. Arne Host.
Arne Host has delivered outstanding contributions to our understanding of allergic diseases, especially cow’s milk protein allergy, based on the Odense Danish birth cohort studies from 1985, 1998/1999 and the 1988 prevention study. These studies have improved our understanding of the development, the natural cause and prevention of cow’s milk protein allergy. Arne Host has also been active in establishing evidence-based recommendations on allergy testing in children; he is a past Chair of the EAACI Pediatric Section and is involved in education as the chair of European Training Committee on Paediatric Allergology.

The Paul Ehrlich Award 2012 for improving Experimental Research was awarded to Prof. Werner J. Pichler.

Werner J. Pichler has achieved many outstanding contributions to research, education and patient care in the field of allergy and also clinical immunology. He is currently Professor and Head of the Allergy and Clinical Department of the University of Berne. His longstanding and highly recognised research focus on drug hypersensitivity has led to major achievements such as the Pi-Concept and standardisation of lymphocytic proliferation essays. He was a dedicated promoter of our broad specialty in the Swiss Allergy Society and in EAACI Executive Committee, also by his standard textbook on “Clinical immunology”. Prof. Pichler also initiated the very successful EAACI/UEMS Knowledge Examination in Allergology and Clinical Immunology.
Last updated 24 May 2019
Privacy Policy - disclaimer

EAACI recently updated its privacy policy and would like to highlight some key bits of information with you.

  • EAACI does not distribute, share or sell your information;
  • For technical and administrative purposes some information that can be used to identify you may be forwarded to third parties. For example, to process your registration for the EAACI Annual Congress and other EAACI events;
  • The Academy may also send you e-mail messages with news from the society. If you would like to no longer receive them, you can unsubscribe at any time by using the unsubscribe link in any of our communications;
  • You may also update your preferences or your profile information at any time by contacting us.

To continue please confirm that you agree with our updated privacy policy.

Thank you!

You have successfully agreed the new privacy policy – disclaimer.

Thank you!

You disagreed with the new privacy policy – disclaimer and your feedback will be reviewed as soon as possible.

Agree & Continue
Send feedback