Grants & Awards

EAACI awards pharf



(Calls for nominations for the PhARF Award 2020 will begin in September 2019)

The objective of PhARF (Phadia Allergy Research Forum) is to encourage progress in allergy research, specifically through the PhARF Award, which is aimed at recognising outstanding younger Investigators.


In 1967 immunoglobulin E, IgE, was discovered by two separate research teams; one in Denver, Colorado, US, led by Kimishige and Teruko Ishizaka, and the other in Uppsala, Sweden, by S.G.O. Johansson, Hans Bennich and Leif Wide.

PhARF was established by Pharmacia Diagnostics (later Phadia and now Thermo Fisher Scientific, ImmunoDiagnostics) in 1987 to honor the 20th anniversary of this discovery. Today the PhARF is a collaboration between Uppsala University and Thermo Fisher Scientific, ImmunoDiagnostics.


The objective of PhARF is to encourage progress in allergy research by means of an international Award. Currently the Award amounts to USD 50,000. Every year a young investigator (maximum 45 years), who has made outstanding contributions to the field of allergy is recognize by this Award. The Award is a personal prize.

Election procedure

Since the Award 2009 a two-step procedure is used. First a Nomination Committee, comprised of representatives from EAACI, sifts out five top candidates of all nominees. Then a Scientific Committee, comprised of the Presidents of EAACI, AAAAI and WAO, meets once a year to select the winner out of these five nominees.

Basis for election

The candidate’s research should be of high quality and in the forefront. The research should have contributed to a better understanding of allergic inflammation as well as improved diagnostic procedures and treatment, enabling more optimal patient management. The level of independency and professional implication of the Award on the candidate’s career, will also be taken into consideration.

Recognition of the winner

The winner (and receiver of Honorable Mentions, if any) is recognized at the yearly EAACI congress in June and invited to Uppsala University in the Autumn every year for a scientific lecture.

Contact information

William McCrea – EAACI Customer Relationship Specialist

Unrestricted Grant provided by Thermo Fisher
ThermoFisher EAACI PhARF Award

Last updated 24 May 2019