Grants & Awards

Phadia Allergy Research Forum (PhARF) Award

PHARF Award 2018 – nominations by 31st August 2018

It is now time to nominate your chosen candidate for the 2018 PhARF Award.
The objective of PhARF is to encourage progress in allergy research, specifically through the PhARF Award, which is aimed at recognising outstanding younger investigators. To nominate, click here.


In 1967 immunoglobulin E, IgE, was discovered by two separate research teams; one in Denver, Colorado, US, led by Kimishige and Teruko Ishizaka, and the other in Uppsala, Sweden, by S.G.O. Johansson, Hans Bennich and Leif Wide.

PhARF (Phadia Allergy Research Forum) was established by Pharmacia Diagnostics (later Phadia and now Thermo Fisher Scientific, ImmunoDiagnostics) in 1987 to honor the 20th anniversary of this discovery. Today PhARF is a collaboration between Uppsala University and Thermo Fisher Scientific, ImmunoDiagnostics.


The objective of PhARF is to encourage progress in allergy research by means of an international Award. Currently the Award amounts to USD 50,000. Every year a young investigator (maximum 45 years), who has made outstanding contributions to the field of allergy is recognize by this Award. The Award is a personal prize.

Election procedure

Since the Award 2009 a two-step procedure is used. First a Nomination Committee, comprised of representatives from Uppsala University, sifts out five top candidates of all nominees. Then a Scientific Committee, comprised of the Presidents of EAACI, AAAAI and WAO, together with a representative from Uppsala University, meets once a year to select the winner out of these five nominees.

Basis for election

The candidate’s research should be of high quality and in the forefront. The research should have contributed to a better understanding of allergic inflammation as well as improved diagnostic procedures and treatment, enabling more optimal patient management. The level of independency and professional implication of the Award on the candidate’s career, will also be taken into consideration.

Recognition of the winner

The winner (and receiver of Honorable Mentions, if any) is recognized at the yearly EAACI congress in June and invited to Uppsala University in the Autumn every year. 

Contact information

Anna Collén, e-mail:
Last updated 06 November 2018
Privacy Policy - disclaimer

EAACI recently updated its privacy policy and would like to highlight some key bits of information with you.

  • EAACI does not distribute, share or sell your information;
  • For technical and administrative purposes some information that can be used to identify you may be forwarded to third parties. For example, to process your registration for the EAACI Annual Congress and other EAACI events;
  • The Academy may also send you e-mail messages with news from the society. If you would like to no longer receive them, you can unsubscribe at any time by using the unsubscribe link in any of our communications;
  • You may also update your preferences or your profile information at any time by contacting us.

To continue please confirm that you agree with our updated privacy policy.

Thank you!

You have successfully agreed the new privacy policy – disclaimer.

Thank you!

You disagreed with the new privacy policy – disclaimer and your feedback will be reviewed as soon as possible.

Agree & Continue
Send feedback