EAACI offers Educational Grants and Awards. EAACI Awards include the Clinical and Research Fellowships and the JM Abstract Awards, as well as the Medals and the Allergopharma Award which are awarded to different categories of scientists based on excellence, according to criteria described under each award category. The winners of the EAACI Awards are announced yearly during the annual EAACI Congress. Specific requirements, application and all relevant information is available from the relevant section.
Phadia Allergy Research Forum (PhARF) Award

PHARF Award 2018 – nominations by 31st August 2018

It is now time to nominate your chosen candidate for the 2018 PhARF Award.
The objective of PhARF is to encourage progress in allergy research, specifically through the PhARF Award, which is aimed at recognising outstanding younger investigators. To nominate, click here.


In 1967 immunoglobulin E, IgE, was discovered by two separate research teams; one in Denver, Colorado, US, led by Kimishige and Teruko Ishizaka, and the other in Uppsala, Sweden, by S.G.O. Johansson, Hans Bennich and Leif Wide.

PhARF (Phadia Allergy Research Forum) was established by Pharmacia Diagnostics (later Phadia and now Thermo Fisher Scientific, ImmunoDiagnostics) in 1987 to honor the 20th anniversary of this discovery. Today PhARF is a collaboration between Uppsala University and Thermo Fisher Scientific, ImmunoDiagnostics.


The objective of PhARF is to encourage progress in allergy research by means of an international Award. Currently the Award amounts to USD 50,000. Every year a young investigator (maximum 45 years), who has made outstanding contributions to the field of allergy is recognize by this Award. The Award is a personal prize.

Election procedure

Since the Award 2009 a two-step procedure is used. First a Nomination Committee, comprised of representatives from Uppsala University, sifts out five top candidates of all nominees. Then a Scientific Committee, comprised of the Presidents of EAACI, AAAAI and WAO, together with a representative from Uppsala University, meets once a year to select the winner out of these five nominees.

Basis for election

The candidate’s research should be of high quality and in the forefront. The research should have contributed to a better understanding of allergic inflammation as well as improved diagnostic procedures and treatment, enabling more optimal patient management. The level of independency and professional implication of the Award on the candidate’s career, will also be taken into consideration.

Recognition of the winner

The winner (and receiver of Honorable Mentions, if any) is recognized at the yearly EAACI congress in June and invited to Uppsala University in the Autumn every year. 

Contact information

Anna Collén, e-mail:
Last updated 17 May 2018